Question about multiple network connections

Status
Not open for further replies.

madboyv1

Forgive me if this has been asked, I didn't look very hard. :rolleyes:

I have two computers, of which both have a Wireless G card and a Wired gigabit connection. Currently they are both on a wireless G 10/100 Netgear router and moving large files between the two via wireless is painful at best.

My question is, would it be possible to connect the two computers via a Cat6 crossover cable or a 10/100/1000 switch while, keeping the wireless connection for internet access? I have a sneaking suspicion that I can't, but I'm not that good with networking so I wouldn't know. :rolleyes:

Forgive me if this has been asked, I didn't look very hard. :rolleyes:

I have two computers, of which both have a Wireless G card and a Wired gigabit connection. Currently they are both on a wireless G 10/100 Netgear router and moving large files between the two via wireless is painful at best.

My question is, would it be possible to connect the two computers via a Cat6 crossover cable or a 10/100/1000 switch while, keeping the wireless connection for internet access? I have a sneaking suspicion that I can't, but I'm not that good with networking so I wouldn't know. :rolleyes:

You don't need a gig router to move gig data from one gig to another gig. Just need a gig switch and either gig PCI, gig PCI-E or GIG PCMICA 32-bit card. But remember G is only 30mbps as N would be more like 120mbps.Wireless will be slower to transfer large files. Newer routers have larger memory packet data buffers some have 832kb for gig switch internal inside the router some have less than 96KB. Gig switches have 64, 128, 144 and all the way up to ((4MB for packet buffers (these are 24/48 ports)).