Question about upgrading my processor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all, I'm new to this site. I've been around computers and know my fair share of knowledge, but when it comes to upgrading hardware i'm a complete noob. I have an Intel Celeron 2.4 GHz Single Core processor in my Dell Dimension 2400 desktop. I recently upgraded my video card to a BFG NVIDEA GeForce 8400 and it runs great. But my processor is just too old and slow for the card to do its full work as well as games to do the same. My Motherboard is the board that came with the Dell desktop. If you need more information on it I will do my best to find it. But if you need any other info also let me know. Thank you in advance for any and all help.

The Dell Dimension 2400 should support the following Pentium 4 processors:

Intel® Pentium® 4 that runs at 2.2 or 2.4 GHz internally and 400 MHz externally, or 2.266, 2.4, 2.53, 2.66, 2.8, or 3.06 GHz internally and 533 MHz externally.

According to Dell's website, the machine uses a motherboard running the Intel 845GV chipset.

If you want to find out for sure, run CPUID's CPU-Z program.

thank you. and the chipset is something integrated into the mobo correct?
The "chipset" actually is the motherboard for all intents and purposes. It's the basis of everything that comes from or goes to the CPU. Different manufacturers "implement" different peripheral controllers in some cases, but the chipset defines what the board is and does.

Ah, okay. Thank you very much. How do I know which like socket type it is or whatever?
All 845 chipset boards are socket 478. The 915 Intel chipset begins the newer socket "LGA775". Dual core compatibility doesn't begin until the 945 boards, and then not until later issues of these.