Refills vs brand new

I'm sure this topic has been touched upon many times but for a newbie can you give me your input? I use a Lexmark x7170 all-in-one printer mainly for home use. The kids print pictures from Disney's website and other places. The wife prints scrapbooking pages, and I print CD labels for my photographic clients.

Knowing all that, what do you think about these office stores offering an ink cartridge refill service? My local store (won't mention the name) charges $9.99 for black, and $14.99 for color. Now to buy them brand new it would cost me $23.99 for black and $26.99 for color. Is it worth getting them refilled, or should I stick with new cartridges and just donate the empties to a recycling service?

Hi fjclaus,
as anecdotal as it is, i have been doing the refill thing for a couple years and not had any problems

That is of course if your refill store will even refill your cartridges (which mine won't for some reason) I haven't checked on any retail chain stores yet..

It is actually cheaper for me to buy a brand new printer with the ink cartridges then is it to buy the standard ink cartridges.....

Original inks are of better quality, while that of refills can vary rather widely. But for the non-critical applications you mention, quality is not a prime concern, so reasonable quality refills should do just fine. Also, despite what some people say, the printer’s guarantee is not invalidated by using other inks, unless the defect is due to such use, which is unlikely.

I've heard of people having ink leaks from using refills but we've never had a problem. We've got an HP all-in-one printer & have been using refills on it practically from the moment we bought it. I hear new printers have chips in the cartridges to prevent this sort of thing though... but as our printer is about 5 years old, we're before that.