Resources for learning?

chisao101

I am an entry level PC technician. I'm A+ and NET+ certified, but lacking in 'hands on' time professionally. I am eager to learn all I can, since this is how I plan to make money for the rest of my life.

I'm pretty new here and I was just looking at this thread:
https://www.techspot.com/vb/topic145823.html

I have been removing viruses from the machines of friends and family for about 10 years (only because I was willing to sit down and research for long enough to figure it out), and only a couple of times have I run into one that puts me through a scenario like that one. Each time though, I had to get the help from a forum, or something like that. I know the basics of how to use HJT, but where do you go to learn which keys belong in Windows and which ones to delete? Is it just a matter of researching each key until you find the culprit keys, or is there a list somewhere, or a reference for comparison? Are there any good resources out there for people that want to learn to remove viruses at an expert level? Or is it basically just being in it for years teaches you?

Also, I wanted to ask someone who may know better than me about this sort of thing...
Malwarebytes Free, along with Avast Home (for it's boot time scan), or Microsoft Security Essentials (for those who know that their Windows has passed Genuine Advantage) are what I recommend to our customers that don't want to pay for the ESET that we sell at our shop. For simple malware removal, are there better programs I should be using?

Thanks in advance for any help you guys might have for me. And I'm pretty sure you can expect to see a lot more of me on this forum, since I am researching computer problems almost every day lately.

I for one greatly appreciate your taking time to ask how we go about cleaning and what it takes to do it!