Someone please help - I keep on crashing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Let me start by telling you that I am quite dense when it comes to the world of computers. In the days of windows 3.1 I was quite in touch but over the last 10 years have got lost!! So go easy on any technical advice please!

My laptop's power supply became faulty so instead of taking it to someone who knows what they are doing to fix it I tried to resolder it.....well skipping all the bits in the middle I had to get myself a new (identical) motherboard and have changed it over (something I have never done before). All is now working but the laptop now keeps crashing at all sort of times. If you boot up in safe mode then it will stay on but booting normally can crash at any time from before windows starts to once you are into windows.

I have tried to search the threads that are here but a lot of it makes little sense to me! Hopefully you can help me first of all find out what is causing the laptop to crash and stay turned off.

Yours hopefully.

There are way too many potential issues to discuss them all here. Do you have a tech savvy friend who could look at your system? You could have damaged other components when you meddled with it. Power supply could be defective in any of a number of ways. CPU may need thermal paste or have too much thermal paste already, CPU fan may be bad, a memory module might be the problem, video card could be bad, any device plugged into a PCI slot could be no good, or it could be a corrupt operating system, or other software issue.
We will need to know the brand and model of the motherboard, power supply, CPU, CPU fan, and other components.
Do you have red or yellow flags in the Device Manager?
Get back to us with a lot of detail.