Suggestions for a new build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tank

Hello everyone. I am new here and been lurking for a little while, so finally signed up. Looking forward to being here and meeting some new people and learning some stuff! I will cut right to it.

I want to build a new machine, strictly for gaming, music, watching movies and creating some HD video, but there won't be much of that, maybe 2 or 3 times a year. I am a diehard AMD fan, so even though Intel is pulling ahead right now, I am still going to run a AMD CPU.

I have a question that is a total newb question, but I honestly just cannot remember, it's escaped my brain. I want to run a 140 watt CPU, but the motherboard I want does not support them, it shows on it's support list only up to 125W CPU's. The CPU I would LIKE to run is the AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition 3.4 GHZ CPU. The motherboards I am now considering are these:

GIGABYTE GA-MA790FXT-UD5P (140W CPU supported)
M4A785TD-V EVO (140W CPU supported)
M4A79XTD EVO - Has HD output on it, really like this.

So which board is best? I have absolutely no problem spending $300 on a Motherboard if it is worth it. I wonder what that HD output is like, does it work well? Or is that option more geared towards people who want to run a HD TV as there monitor? Maybe there is a better MB then all of these I am not even considering sense I don't know about it?

All I know forsure is, I want to watercool, and I want 2 GeForce 295's, have not decided if I am just going to WC the CPU, or the CPU, and both cards, or what to cool, hoping someone can shed some light on a good WC kit or pieces for me, really don't know much there. I had one WC kit, but it was a cheap Thermaltake when they first came out, thats as far as my WC experience goes.

As far as budget goes, I guess between $3000-$4000 is about right. Looking for suggestions on everything, good full tower case, best LCD monitor out there for gaming, all of it, I would like to hear it.