Too low PSU?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have started building a pc recently, but due to limited budget i am buying a part after part. So far i have bought a motherboard and a PSU.

My wish list is looking like this:
Mobo: GA-P55-USB3
CPU:i5-750
GPU:1x HD Radeon 5850
RAM:2x2gb 1600
HDD:1x 7.200 rpm

The PSU i have bought is Gigabyte Superb 550P which clams to have 450w continuous output and has 550w Peak combined wattage.

Before buying psu i have spent some time on a calculator just to see that it shows a 352w minimum requirements, so i have decided that a ~450w psu would be enough. Althought after surfing net i have seen people going for 750watts+ with similiar systems built. This is my first time building pc, so im kinda lost here.

Thanks in advance.

Don't think you need anything as high as 750W there.

However, if its not too much, I'd go with at least 550 just to be on the safe side.

Some components do require more power as they age, and PSUs deliver less as they age, so you'd want to build those factors in, unless you plan on buying new stuff every so often (2-3 years?). I'm not sure if solid caps in motherboards changed this equation though.

What CMH said. I don't know if you would care to apply this to your situation or not, but I add all components up at their peak usage, and add 30% to the continuous power rating. this does not account for upgrading or adding another graphics card.

Thanks for the replies. It was helpfull.

PSU is still unpacked so i will head to store to change to a more powerfull.
How much wattage and which brand should i consider?

Thanks in advance.

What's your budget like? I would normally pick a Corsair 650TX keeping all future upgrade possibilities in mind. But if you're going to keep to a single GPU for now then the Corsair 550VX would be great.

Thanks for the replies.