Trying to connect 2 computerw via ethernet cable

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi, i have 2 computers 1 is running win 2 k pro sp4 and the other is running vista hp sp1. i am trying to connect them together via ethernet cable for file sharing, ect, and i do not know how to configure the comps. can someone explain to me how to get it working. i do not know how to set it up. please help, thanx, dennis

You can't do it with a straight cable, at least not without having higher than normal intellegence NICs. You will have to use a crossover cable (for a simple solution), or a hub or router if you are stuck with straight cables.

I am not an expert at either Windows2K or Vista, but if they are both connected to a router (i.e. you can access the internet from either computer). Look in the help files under shared folders. This should tell specifically what to do on either OS as far as security setups,etc.

If the computers are not presently hooked to an ethernet cable, you need some type of hub or router. A crossover cable (special network cable for this purpose) would also work, but a hub is easier to deal with, just plug both computers in with standard ethernet cable.

How are you connected to the internet today?
Right now, how are you connected to the Internet?? Assuming, for example, you have an incoming wire from your ISP please describe the how your hardware is connected now and the make/model of each computer and modem (your ISP cable probably connects to a modem device. Look for a metallic tag on it to give you the make/model)

This will help answer the best method for you to create a Local Area Network (LAN) for all your computers.

Here are some links you can start reviewing about configuring for file sharing, etc. but strongly advise you don't change anything until you've established your LAN. There are so many ways file sharing on Windows can fail is best not attempt it until you've proven you can establish a basic LAN