Uninstall MS Updates that crippled my S/W

Modifyinc

I bought a used POS system that has Windows Embedded 7 on it and it has been working great for over a year now. The other day I powered it down and I noticed it said it was installing 67 updates. When I powered it back on it continued to install the remaining updates and then loaded the desktop. Now every time I run the POS Menu program I get the following error:

The process performance counter is disabled, so the requested operation cannot be performed

I can press ok, and then about 10 seconds later the same error pops back up. I have pressed the button 10 or 20 times hoping it would eventually open the POS Menu, but no luck so far.

I’m a technician by trade, but I have never worked on a Windows Embedded system. Everything seems to be locked down on the desktop. The start menu only has a search box with the power menu to the right. The search box is disabled, so you can’t run any commands. The only icon on the desktop is a shortcut for the POS Menu. I can open the task manager but I can’t run any commands from it either.

All I want to do is uninstall those updates so things can return to the way it was, or resolve the error message if possible. I loaded Hiren’s BootCD and gained access to the file system. Hiren seems to pack a lot of tools, but I didn’t see anything that could uninstall MS updates or even run the MS system restore. I did notice there were many users in the Users directory but how can I attempt to load any of them if the system doesn’t allow you to change users? I also noticed using Hiren’s BootCD doesn’t give you access to the User Accounts applet in the control panel either. So even if I could change users, how would I create a new user?