Unsure of what graphics card my PC can handle

Hi all,

I'm brand new to PC gaming and I am overwhelmed by all of the technical stuff you need to know. You name it I aint got a clue. I have read a lot of useful posts etc and I am starting to learn the basics but in the meantime I have a question. I got a new PC last week from Zoostorm. Even just posting the specs for me is difficult as I don't know exactly what I should be putting so apologies in advance if this is too much info or not enough etc:

I have Windows 7 Home premium 64 bit
CPU - Pentium Dual Core E6600 (Wolfsdale) 3.06ghz, 2 cores, 2 logical processors
I am told by my manufacturer that the PSU is 300W
I have 4GB RAM
I currently have no graphics card at all, just the integrated graphics that came with it. I believe they are called Intel G41 Express Chipset
My maunufacturer tells me it has a slot for a PCI-E graphics card (although when running CPU-Z it just seems to list it as PCI, no mention of an E at all). I am hoping my manufacturer is correct when they state that ALL of their PCs have PCI-E slots.

So, with all that in mind I just want to know what a decent graphics card I could get. I am only starting out so don't intend any major uphieval in terms of upgrading. I know my PSU is pretty wimpy and needs beefing up and that it will limit the choices of graphics card I can get. I don't need a [powerhouse PC, I just want to be able to play the likes of Stalker etc to a good standard. What is a good PCI-E graphics card that my PC could handle and that doesn't cost the earth (£75 max).

Many thanks,

Chris

Well for starters I would say that you should get a better PSU. Anyhow, If you are not sure of what connectors that you have got you can always open the case and see (here is a good pic of pci / pcie slots). If you open the case you can also see what PSU you have got :)