Very strange problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have got no idea where to start troubleshooting with this one. since so many things are affected, it could be anything :S

problem:
randomly when running a game or application my computer gets all messed up
symptons: (all simultaneously)
I lose my internet connection
sound gets all messed up (becomes very jittery and a bit cracking)
overal performance gets jittery, even in windows after closing app/game

i got to reboot my comp to get rid of it.

I had this problem for a while now, but it only happened very rarely but yesterday I started playing team fortress 2 and now i get this problem every time i run the game after 5/10 minutes... making the game unplayable

any input will be greatly appriciated!

system specs:
CPU: AMD Athlon X2 6000+
GPU: Radeon 2900XT
MB: M2R32-MVP
Sound: X-fi Elite Pro
memory: 4x 1gb GeIL ddr2 800mhz
PSU: Corsair HX1000, 1kw psu

i disabled every background program i could, then started playing again and it played for about 30 mins without problems then it happened again

I then opened the case and checked all components temp, i don't have a thermometer for it but it seemd to me that my memory got extremely hot... hotter than my hd2900xt so it's at least 70c

any chance this kind of stuff could happen because my memory is overheating?

Hey download SensorsView Gives you some temperatures!

But yes it could be the memory! How manys slots do you have and how many slots are filled?

70C is too hot for memory modules.
You have good equipment and high quality memory.
Case fans will probably not help much.
I would buy or borrow an infrared thermometer gun. They run about $25 5o $30 on up to $100 and $200. But a simple one will read the actual temperature on those modules... and elsewhere.

ok i got myself a IR thermometer, ordered a Thermaltake cyclo memory cooler as well.

results: (under load, side panel off)

cpu: 47c
gpu: 59c
memory: 46c (with cyclo)
psu: 44c
chipset: 64c !!!