Windows 10 --> 8 --> without losing data

Will35

Hello,
I recently built a new pc and replaced everything but the SSD from my old one. Everything went well but after a few days, Oh no! A wild Activate Windows has appeared! I tried selecting the " I recently changed hardware, but it didn't work. I have an old windows 8 key that I have verified as still working, so I assume my best option is to downgrade to Windows 8, then back to Windows 10. I have spent a significant period of time downloading programs and games and I would really prefer not to lose that. Is there any way I could carry out this transition without losing my data? I have a 500GB HDD from my old pc that I could use for backups, but I have no experience in this area and thought I would turn to the wise people of TechSpot.
Tl;dr I want to go Windows 10-8-10 without losing data.
Any help is much appreciated.

Gee whiz and I thought the section beginning at the quotation below would solve it...

"How to Reactivate the License
Once you arrive at the desktop, you will need to re-enter your product key. You can do this a couple of different ways, let’s try the easiest method first.

Click Start > Settings > Update & security > Activation > Change the product key. Enter your Windows 7 or Windows 8.0/8.1 product key then click Next to activate.

The other option is to enter the key from the command prompt, press Windows key + X then click Command Prompt (Admin). Use this option only if you are experiencing difficulty doing so from within Settings."

Let me know if you ever find an answer.

Being a human and possessing some basic intel
Gee whiz and I thought the section beginning at the quotation below would solve it...

"How to Reactivate the License
Once you arrive at the desktop, you will need to re-enter your product key. You can do this a couple of different ways, let’s try the easiest method first.