Windows freezes on startup

Hi, this is my first tech forum, and I am new to fixing my pc so please bear with me.
On startup my computer crashes. It's as though its on a timer, so sometimes it lets me login, sometimes it doesn't. Safe mode seems to work fine.

I'm using windows vista the pc is a gateway NV54 series.
So far i've tried anti-viruses and a cleaner and none seemed to do much.
I've considered system restore but I'm not sure if its the right move so i wanna try some other things first.

I get a few errors from the freeze, and I think this is the one that causes it-

Log Name: Application
Source: Microsoft-Windows-WMI
Date: 28/06/2011 5:01:53 PM
Event ID: 10
Task Category: None
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Ciros27-PC
Description:
Event filter with query "SELECT * FROM __InstanceModificationEvent WITHIN 60 WHERE TargetInstance ISA "Win32_Processor" AND TargetInstance.LoadPercentage > 99" could not be reactivated in namespace "//./root/CIMV2" because of error 0x80041003. Events cannot be delivered through this filter until the problem is corrected.

I'm only 14 so you may need to "translate" a few words for me if you try and explain a solution to this :) There are a couple of other errors but they didn't look like the culprit, but I could be wrong so I could provide them if you want

Cheers,
Ciros

Okay, first if it can load into Safe Mode we are most likely looking at a driver issue.

1. Do you get any Blue Screens?

2. Have you installed any new software recently?

3. When did these issues begin?

Yes, I have gotten blue screens, at one point I couldn't log-on without getting it and restarting (after restarting it worked fine). I got bluescreeens once ages ago and a couple of times a couple of weeks ago, not long before the freezing started

I havent downloaded anything suspicious, only a mod, regular updates and some adobe stuff, so I don't think I've picked up anything