XP pro, low virtual memory, won't boot - one locked document folder

Status
Not open for further replies.

ladyjb

To get started...yes I tried all the standard stuff defrag, checked memory, try reinstall system files ...all no help. When running this 80g HD as master it WILL NOT boot even to safe mode. Disk is 25% free space and I have 1gig ram, athalon 3500 (hrrm or was that 3600) socket 939.

When I put this drive as a slave I can see everything and access everything all sys files other users files ect accept one...the one i need. It says you dont have access when I try to open it. Cant get into admin cuz HD wont boot as master.

It appears to me that maybe I been hacked and they locked down this one folder some how. When checking the folder it shows no files no folders ect however disk space reflects files should still be there..

Found something in folders that says maybe hacker name was "sam" and elsewhere in files a 7 day lock down perhaps....wish I was a programmer LOL

Got any ideas on how to unlock this folder? Copying wont work.

I believe if they did it, theres a way to undo it LOL. Thanks for your help.

the one i need. It says you dont have access when I try to open it. Cant get into admin cuz HD wont boot as master..
You need to change the security and take full permission of the folder, by right clicking on it

Note if you don't see the security folder (after right click then properties)
The try it in Safe mode ;)