BIOS detects secondary SATA HD, but XP doesn't!

Hello board, I seem to be in deep trouble. This is about my content repository PC that I only used to store all my important files I've been working on since last 5 years.

Config of this PC :
HD1 : IDE 40GB (Primary) - 3 partitions FAT32
HD2 : SATA 250 GB - 4 partitions - NTFS [in trouble right now]
HD3 : SATA 1 TB - 4 partitions - NTFS
RAM : 256 MBs SDRAM.

I have most of my highly critical stuff on this 250 GB Sata drive. Installed my new 1 TB drive some 3 months back and had to backup all my data from my 250 GB to 1 TB HD. Didn't get time to do that. Started with that 2 days back, and all was going fine, copied some 20 GB of data, and suddenly there was an error while reading from source disk. The system was becoming a bit jammed and overloaded for unknown reasons, and I thought to restart the system. After I restarted, I get to see that though it can detect all partitions of 1 TB, all partitions of my 250 GB drive becomes non-detected. I restarted several times, and noted that while booting, it was taking a bit more time, almost 1.5 minutes at the "Detecting IDE Drives..." stage to detect my SATA drives now, and both the drives get detected in that process... After the point that says "Verifying DMI Pool..." and then the windows load, later, the 250 GB drive is not detected by the loaded XP.

Now, neither the drive partitions are visible in My Computer, nor I can access them through command prompt. I'm deeply worried because all my data still resides on that hd and that's killing me every moment. Please help, I've no words to say other than that :(

I haven't even used this PC too much... I only boot it once in 7 to 15 days, just for a few hours, transfer my stuff from my other PCs to this PC, and then shut it down. So the disks haven't even been roughly used as compared to my other PCs :(