Black screen with video card enabled

hi, newbie here. i need help on my pc. my 1 year old messed up the pc by randomly pressing on the keyboard sometimes so i don't know how things happened.

our taskbar, and programs i open do not appear on the desktop but on a "secondary monitor". i was able to prove this by making a printscreen and it shows that everything i open shows on a secondary screen to the right. (btw, i use windows 7 ultimate)

i read somewhere that if you select monitor 2 on display settings, you'll be able to see what's on monitor 2. so i did, then everything just went to a black screen upon reboot. mouse moving, but just black.

i run in safemode ok, but not in normal mode. i disable my nvidia geforce 5500 and it works in normal mode, (but screen resolution stuck at a lousy 800x600).

i can't afford a 2nd monitor right now and i don't have an adaptor to use.

PLEASE HELP.. (newbie skills...)

1. Click start
2. In the text box type screen resolution and press enter
3. In the box that opens up,
4. Click detect display, and it should then tell you another one isnt present.
5. Click identify to identify your display number, and then check
6. Display lists the display number for your monitor that you just saw (e.g. 1 or 2).
7. Select apply, and it should sort itself out.

do i do this in safe mode or normal mode?
if i do it in safe mode, it only shows me one default monitor
if i try to go to normal mode, i just get the black screen that i can do nothing with.. i click on windows button and see nothing but the black screen and the mouse cursor

Then I don't know, but I would be un-installing your graphics drivers, and then re-installing them. It sounds like a problem with your graphics driver to be honest.

i uninstalled and reinstalled the video card and driver. once uninstalled, i can use the desktpo like normal except for the resolution being stuck at 800x600. but once i reinstall and reboot, it goes back to the black screen..