Built-in CD/DVD-RW drive stopped functioning

Hi there,

A couple of months ago my CD/DVD-RW drive stopped working (it works physically, but when I enter a CD, the software will not read it, and the corresponding drive in the My Computer screen disappeared). However, since I found out it stopped working I've been too lazy to try and fix the problem. Today, however, I made some attempts to retrieve it. First off, I opened my case [I handpicked the hardware ingredients some years ago and had it assembled for me] and tried to figure out if any cables were disconnected from the device. I'm by no means an expert on the subject, but I think the drive was still connected properly.

Next up, I checked out my BIOS. It said something about a ROM station being disabled, but enabling that did not help. At the booting options, however, I found the option "IDE:TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-202J", which (I'm guessing) must be the drive, so my software recognizes the device [right?]. Not finding anything else, I just checked off "Return all values to default", but that did not retrieve the device either.

Finally, I tried switching some devices of/on and using the "Search for changed apparatus" function in the screen (I don't know what it's called in English) included in the attachment. In this application, I tried using the CD/DVD-stations as well as the IDE section, since in the BIOS the device was identified with the IDE tag.

Long story short, I still have no idea how to retrieve the device. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
Relativism

Attachments

• h6LKN.jpg
    h6LKN.jpg
    49.9 KB · Views: 9
In 'Device manager' (the screen in your image), right-click on the DVD/CD and choose "uninstall this device".
Re-start the PC and you should find, Windows finds the DVD/CD and installs the drivers for it. It should then work.

Hi there,