Can't access internet - LAN cable unplugged

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hiya,

I'm a newbie here, nice to meet you all, seeking some advice..

I live in the UK,in Exeter, Devon

I inherited a new Pc from my parents workplace, running Windows XP Professional.

I've done a FAST transfer wizard and it tells me it was successful, but I'm unable to log in using the old id from the old PC. I can't add a new account and I'm not sure if it's safe to remove an old account.I can log in only on the old password and user name.

I'm also unable to connect to the internet.My system tray tells me there is a "Local Area Network cable unplugged".When I plug in the old grey modem cable from the old pc which was using a dial-up connection there is no dial tone on the phone!When I tell it to dial-up, it tells me there is a hardware problem with the modem or other connecting device.I've had a look at some books and I think because the old PC was built for a network, there isn't a port I can use for dial-up, just an ethernet port.
So,I decided to buy a pay-as-you-go Vodafone dongle That installed itself with no problem and set up it's own connection as far as I can tell, the network coverage seems to be fine, they checked my postcode and that's fine. But the page displays the message that the website can't be found!
Could that be the website I was trying to access was busy?Vidafone's website and instructions don't seem at all helpful!

Cananyone shed any light on these matters?I'm not very PC savvy at all in these things, but happy to have a go if you give me clear step-by-step instructions !

Many thanks, jill

Jill,