Cloud problems sharing files from laptop to an iPad Air

bazz2004

I am trying to use free Cloud storage to access content on my iPad from a Windows 7 laptop. I’m new to the iPad and have never uploaded stuff before. Wishing to avoid Apple iTunes I set up Dropbox and managed to share some small files.

I’m uploading a 500Mb mp4 file but it’s not going well. Dropbox showed massively fluctuating upload times and I left it running overnight but I haven’t succeeded. Worse, surfing the internet was snail like. I reinstalled Dropbox and after a few seconds of dramatic upload speeds everything slowed to how it was.

Stage 2 has been uninstalling Dropbox and using Virgin Cloud. Better but it’s still going to take hours to upload the video file. My Virgin connection is 5Mb. It’s good enough to watch streamed video and Virgin have said that I have been upgraded to 10Mb. I take that with a pinch of salt because it takes them months to actually implement these free upgrades.

I’m unimpressed with how Cloud storage is shaping up compared with using physical drives and have the feeling that I'm missing something obvious here? Any advice would be welcome.

You are spot on. There's lots of issues with the Cloud and privacy/security is at the top of the list. Compatibility across platforms is also not a given.

The wife is a Macophile and I'm on Win/7/pro, but manage her iPad and iPod from my machine via iTunes nicely. Be advise however, that there's an uproar re iTunes 12 GUI changes (which is why I elect manual updates to my software).

Thanks for the input. I was thinking that nobody was going to reply to this one.