Computer keeps freezing when playing games

Hello. I am new to the forums here and I'm not very tech savvy so please bear with me. I encountered a problem about a week ago. The problem was that my computer kept freezing whenever I played any kind of game (such as WoT). When I opened up the application, in around the first 10 seconds, my computer would freeze prior to opening the game application. What the screen would look like is a very pshychodelic screen of a little distorted colors of red and blue along with the colors of the screen. During that freeze, my mouse wouldn't move, as well as ctrl-alt-dlt so I would have to turn it off by holding on to the start button. I turn on my computer again and there would be a bunch of small green, vertical dots in the loading screen like something from the matrix but not that many dots. I hit f1 to start (my computer has a lot of problems :p) and I go to the screen where it asks me if I would like to go to safe mode or normal mode. On that screen, the screen is more of a checkered red and black with different, random patterns. I go to normal mode and enter the loading screen where my windows 7 moving icon starts up. On that screen, there are a bunch of vertical green lines on the screen. The computer, however, does not load up in that stage and either freezes in a black screen slumber or just restarts.

Now this would happen to my computer now. It was quite different a month ago.