Considering a more silent PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

RayRay

hi

My plan:

I'm gonna do some modding on my pc, and the reasons i'm gonna do it is to get my pc mostly quiter. and of course cooler. planning also to try some OC on my CPU.
when it comes to overclocking, i know there is a risk by doing it, but i wanna try it anyway.

My setup:

mobo is gigabyte ga-ma785gt-ud3h Award bios
CPU is AMD Phenom II x4 945 95watt
case Lancool PC-K56

My shopping list:

3 case fans
SilenX iXtrema PRO IXP-74-14 120mm 122m³/h 14dB

The CPU Cooler
Noctua NH-U9B SE2 CPU 92mm Fan 1600RPM 17,6 dB

About the case and mobo:

The case got 2 fans that i will replace and the 3rd fan will be placed under the DVD-rom with some strimlers to get more air in to the case.
The mobo got 1 cpu fan header and 3 fan headers.

What I need help with:

I have never done OC before so I need some guidance tru this operation.

The conclusion:

I hope my plan with the fans and the cpu cooler i've picked out will do my pc more silent and also able to do some OC

Any help will be appriciated.

When you're up and running with the modifications head back here and we'll get that CPU flying.

I OC'd my X3 720 with help from red1776 here so I'm sure he'll be around to help you too.

Hey Rayray, & Rit

I'm feeling kinda lazy so im going to C&P this from my guide here on TS:

8) Consider Overclocking