Explainer: What Are Tensor Cores?

Julio Franco

Staff member
I'm just a dumb engineer (as in not a mathematician, so I might be totally off) , but in the math I know the dimensionality of matrices is determined by their variable (column) count, and I've never seen a matrix stacked on another matrix, you would just add more rows or column.

I honestly see no difference between RTX on and RTX off with my 2080Ti considering the games I play don't support RTX (DCS World, CS GO, Chess.com) but CoD MW did look really good.

I hope the lowest 3000 series GPUis powerful enough to actually justify the ray tracing difference.

Im just a dumb engineer (as in not a mathematician so I might be totally off) , but in the math I know the dimensionality of matrices is determined by their variable (column) count, and ive never seen a matrix stacked on another matrix, you would just add more rows or column.
Matrices are a specific type of 1D x 1D tensor, so the 3D representation isn’t really a bunch of matrices stacked on top of each other - it was an attempt to visualise it, rather than formally state ‘this is what a 3D tensor looks like.’ Depicting multidimensional arrays isn’t easy ?

Edit: In hindsight, order would probably be a better term to have used rather than dimensions - the order is determined by the sum of the dimensions of each index which forms the array, so in the case of a matrix, it’s a 2nd order tensor because no matter how rows and columns you have, they’re always 1D each.

So the tensor cores in Nvidia’s GPUs do GEMM on 4x4 2nd order tensors.

Last edited: