1. TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users. Ask a question and give support. Join the community here.
    TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users.
    Ask a question and give support.
    Join the community here, it only takes a minute.
    Dismiss Notice

Facebook extends account deletion grace period to 30 days

By Shawn Knight · 5 replies
Oct 4, 2018
Post New Reply
  1. Facebook has more than doubled the amount of time it takes to delete an account. The change, first spotted by The Verge, has been confirmed by the social networking giant.

    When opting to delete a Facebook account, it isn’t actually erased right away. Facebook offers a grace period designed to give people more time to make a “fully informed choice.” This grace period used to be 14 days but now, it is 30 days.

    A spokesperson for Facebook said they’ve seen people try to log into accounts they opted to delete after the 14-day grace period, hence the change.

    It’s unclear when exactly the change was made. Late last month, Facebook said it discovered a security issue impacting nearly 50 million user accounts.

    While helpful for those that get cold feet after the initial two-week period, the change essentially drags out the process for those who are absolutely certain they are done with Facebook. Maybe Facebook’s thinking is that those who delete their accounts in a moment of outrage will have a change of heart given a full month to mull it over?

    What are your thoughts on the matter? Is a month-long grace period too lengthy? Should there be an instant delete option?

    Permalink to story.

     
  2. 300Hitter

    300Hitter TS Member Posts: 21   +7

    Your Facebook account is not deleted after 15 days or now 30 days, it just gets disabled.

    I had deleted my FB account about 5-6 years ago and recently tried to login with my email address that I used on that FB account and voilà, it asked me if I wanted to restore my old account years later.
     
    Reehahs likes this.
  3. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 TS Addict Posts: 205   +58

    This is a different option than you describe. There is now a total delete option, making it so you can't just 'log back in' and have it restore everything.
     
    hahahanoobs likes this.
  4. Uncle Al

    Uncle Al TS Evangelist Posts: 5,680   +4,025

    I'll believe that when I see it! I tried as recently as 3 months ago to delete my account and when I logged back in, it magically appeared, fully intact .......
     
  5. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 TS Addict Posts: 205   +58

    There is a difference between delete and deactivate. Most people mistakenly just deactivate. But you absolutely have the option to do either one. ;)
    upload_2018-10-4_16-2-5.
     
    hahahanoobs likes this.
  6. "A spokesperson for Facebook said they’ve seen people try to log into accounts they opted to delete after the 14-day grace period, hence the change."
    I wonder if this is people who have deleted their account checking to see if it is actually gone. I know I would
     

Add your comment to this article

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...