Gaming Case Roundup: Six Sub-$200 Choices

I'm having serious problems finding a solid case for my computer. I've been using Chieftec models for the past 10 years or so, and every other case I've bought turns out to be made of this squishy, soft metal. You know the type, where the backplate of the case bends as you try to click in a couple RAM chips after assembly, right? I really hate that. Chieftec cases are sturdy, ice cold and HEAVY (amg, luvs it)! Problem is, my usual shops aren't selling Chieftec cases anymore.

My latest epic fail was buying NZXT's Phantom. It's sexy like a female stormtrooper and it's got pretty, pretty lights. I know! I even like that ABS plastic cover stuff, but the metal is just so fluffy! I literally need to remove the cover on both sides of the case just to support to back plate with my left hand as I'm mounting memory chips with my right hand. [insert much hate here] Oh, and I even bought the matching NZXT PSU, in white paint, just like my Phantom case. Screwholes are busted after 1 move. I was so careful, but the paint offset one of the screws so it went in a little crooked and when I unscrewed it to get it set properly, it was busted. The paint was tougher than the metal. I mean... come on, man! Bad mojo!

I've had a couple Akasa cases as well, and it's the same thing. I actually managed to twist the entire case once, just from trying to fasten a screw. And I'm actually being careful. :p I swear.

I'd really like to find a case that's just as solid as my old Chieftec ones.

Guest said:
No Corsair cases? :( I would have taken a 650D over any of those.

Expect a review on the 650D very shortly. I imagine it will be online next week.