Laptop sound issue

Frogger409

Hello all, this is my first time posting here.

To start of with explaining my problem in hopes of finding a solution, I will write down the model of my laptop and OS (if any more is needed, I am happy to comply):
HP Pavillion dv6910
Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit

This laptop has been working fine until a few days ago. Since then I have been through a lot to try to fix it. I've tried downloading drivers found on the HP website, googling my problem to find various websites that talk about it, and system restore. These didn't help me so I have decided to take a more direct approach by posting here. I have formatted my computer and reinstalled Windows 7 in the hopes of fixing it and to my relief the sound was working great. But, after a while of using the computer, I wanted to watch a video, and no audio was heard. I have looked for the drivers and nothing is there. The sound just disappeared. I really need help, and again, if any more information is needed, just tell me so.

<snip>I have looked for the drivers and nothing is there. The sound just disappeared

Where did you look for them that they seemed to disappear?

Also, I don't know if this might reveal anything but give these a try and report back

List any Problem Devices
  • Click Start->Run, enter: msinfo32. Click the + sign next to Components to expand it
  • Click Problem Devices. Anything appear?
  • If yes, click on it, Ctrl-A to select all, Ctrl-C to copy it, Ctrl-V to paste into next post
  • On the other hand, if no devices are listed, tell me so
Generate and attach a DirectX report
  • Click Start->Run, enter dxdiag
  • Notice progress in lower left window corner
  • When done, click Save Information button and save to your Desktop
  • In TechSpot window, use the paper clip icon to attach the report. (If you don't see icon you may need to first click Go Advanced)

Thanks for the speedy response ^^