Machine_check_exception stop: 0X0000009C (0X00000004 0X80546E70 0XB2000000 0X00070F0F

Status
Not open for further replies.

mongoose333

I recently have been getting this Error, I was sent here, to maybe find out how to fix this.

machine_check_exception stop: 0X0000009C (0X00000004 0X80546E70 0XB2000000 0X00070F0F)

It does it all the time, it seems, mostly on bootup, but has just been crashing now as well.
I have ran memtest and ram looks fine.I have limited self taught knowledge of P.C.'s.
I can follow directions to a T, though.

Any help in figuring this out, will be greatly appreciated.Driving me crazy...

Running Win Xp Home, SP3
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
MOBO- K8NHA Grand nForce3 250GB
1 Gig of Ram
New Video card installed - AGP-X1650 Pro 512 mb

Can provide any more info needed.

Sincerely, Mongoose333

Your error is 0x0000009C: MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION

This is a hardware issue: an unrecoverable hardware error has occurred. The parameters have different meanings depending on what type of CPU you have but, while diagnostic, rarely lead to a clear solution. Most commonly it results from overheating, from failed hardware (RAM, CPU, hardware bus, power supply, etc.), or from pushing hardware beyond its capabilities (e.g., overclocking a CPU).

The newer code designation under Vista is 0x124. As the definition indicates this is a very difficult error code to work with. I have seen the issue centered on NIC cards, DVD/CD drives, sound cards, etc.

How long did you run memtest? Have you taken RAM stick(s) and tried them in another slot(s)?

How are your system temps? Are all fans working? Did you get these system issues before installing your new video card?

Google is our friend :)