My first PC build...

jim8193

... in the shopping cart ...

Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
Corsair Pro Series Gold AX850
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD7-B3 LGA 1155 Intel
Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
EVGA SuperClocked 012-P3-1572-AR GeForce GTX 570 (Fermi) (1 or 2)
OCZ Vertex 3 – MAX IOPS Edition VTX3MI-25SAT3-240G SSD
Lite-On SATA iHBS212-08 Light Scribe BluRay
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit - OEM

1 EVGA 570 : $2,284.91 -- $65 m/i rebates
2 EVGA 570s : $2,609.90 -- $90 m/i rebates

Home PC - work, games, streaming, surfing ...
... I'm new to building, so any advice would be greatly appreciated - tia ...

Unless the work you mentioned means 24/7 video processing, that build is incredible overkill. Let's break this down.
-An i7-2600k will only offer a jump in performance significant enough to justify the $100 more than the i5-2500k if you're doing some serious video encoding on a professional level. The 2600k offers hyperthreading as its main selling point, as well as a slightly higher clock frequency over the 2500k. Both will offer phenomenal performance, but there will be a minimal difference when gaming, and a completely negligible difference when surfing the web.
-A 240gb SSD? If you don't own a private jet, don't spend that much money on an SSD. The way to use an SSD these days is to install your OS on it, and have an HDD for music, videos, games, etc. Get a 1TB WD Caviar Black and a 60Gb vertex III for your OS.
-Unless you plan on running a server, or a bunch of virtual machines, you don't need 16GB of RAM. Go with 8, you won't notice a difference at all when gaming or web surfing.