Need advice on what card to buy to upgrade a Dell Dimension 4700

Status
Not open for further replies.

greener2

Hey all,

My first post, and a total newbie, so be nice! :)

I know this question has been asked before, but it was about 5 months ago and I know there have been a few cards that have come out since.

I'm running a Dell Dimension 4700 with the following information from CPU-Z:

Processor: Intel Pentium 4 540 3.20 GHz
Clock Core Speed: 3192.3 MHz
Mainboard Manufacturer/Model: Dell Inc. OM3918
Memory Type: DDR2
Memory Size: 512MB (but soon to be upgraded to 2 or 3 gigs i hope!)
Memory Channels #: Dual
Graphic Interface: PCI-Express x16

I don't know the make of the power supply right now, I'm not actually near it at the mo, and can't get at the power supply box inside. But it's the one that came with it when I bought it, so I don't know if that helps.

Anyway, I was looking at the Geforce 8600gt, but as I say, total newbie! Has anyone any suggestions? I would like to play all the newest games, nothing hugely spectacular but decent enough!

Hoping to spend around €150, maybe €170 including shipping (so that's about $220-$250 in the US, or around £120 -£135 in the UK). I'm in Ireland btw!

Any help or advice would be very much appreciated! :)

Ok update, I just looked inside the computer and the sticker on my power supply has this to say:

Output: +12VA 18.0A
+12VB 18.0A
-12V 0.5A

Then it says:

"Max combined output current on +12VA & +12VB outputs is 22A".

So, any ideas?

I'm not sure if the Dell 4700 has enough room to accommodate the Radeon 4850, but that card would be a good for the amount you have budgeted. The card is about 9 inches long.

I'm not sure if your power supply is sufficient. It might be but I would feel better if was a bit better. For reference the minimum recommended system requirements for a single Radeon 4850 are:

ATI Radeon HD 4850 System Requirements