Need help picking out laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi I am looking for a laptop that is priced around $500 I am fresh out of high school and am going into the military... I have basic computer knowledge and am completley lost when it comes to wireless networking cards. I want a laptop that I can go on the internet anywhere where it is availible I have prety much decided on a dell Inspiron 15 laptop with 250 gb hard drive and a Dell Wireless 1397 802.11g Half Mini-Card for $549. However the next modle up has a Intel WiFi Link 5100 802.11 Wireless-N Mini Card and I would like to know the difference..Also if anyone knows of a laptop that is similarly priced with more/better features I would much apprecitate it I am trying my best to do research on my own but there are so many choices I need advice from someone with a little more computer know-how than myself..l. Thanks- Kyle