Nvidia's GeForce RTX 3060 boasts 12GB of VRAM and 3,584 CUDA cores for $329

Irata

Posts: 1,137   +1,803
TechSpot Elite
It's only 192 bit though, so the bandwidth is significantly lower (and the VRAM is also cheaper and more readily available as well). Th 3060Ti/3070 have 256 bit, and the 3080 has 384 bit.
The funny thing is that it's supposedly using faster RAM - according to Videocardz 16 Gbps vs 14 for the Ti, so bandwidth should not be that much lower. Read 17 Gbps for the 3060 on another source.

I am wondering if the increased memory amount is related to resizable bar.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: yRaz

Irata

Posts: 1,137   +1,803
TechSpot Elite
I find it bizarre too but super/ultra variants are coming with more ram. Yes, there are rumors of a 3060 "ultra" :) Maybe they anticipated a shortage of ram during ampere launch and had to cut corners, or had to cut the costs initially? Not sure
It's similar to last gen cards vs their Super refresh - what they want to give consumers vs what they feel they need to give in the face of competition (although competition is higly theoretical right now).

A 3060 with 6GB lower clocked memory might have caused some to wait for Navi 22, a 12 GB version with higher clocked memory will reduce this considerably.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Eldritch

Michael7

Posts: 43   +34
I definitely find it bizarre that it has more VRAM than the 3060 ti, the 3070 and the 3080. I think I’d be annoyed if I had already bought a 3070.
I tried buying 3060 Ti and I am glad that I couldn't get it because it looks silly now. This is no doubt consquence of AMD going strong with 16GB and likely 12 GB with 6700. I think that Nvdia has no choice but to release these cards with more RAM as TI/Super and 3060 Ultra? It will be a mess.
 

meric

Posts: 300   +290
It's similar to last gen cards vs their Super refresh - what they want to give consumers vs what they feel they need to give in the face of competition (although competition is higly theoretical right now).

A 3060 with 6GB lower clocked memory might have caused some to wait for Navi 22, a 12 GB version with higher clocked memory will reduce this considerably.
But isn't it better to release the products with more ram from the get go? Having to design and produce different SKUs makes it more expensive and harder to manage?
 

Shadowboxer

Posts: 1,135   +752
It isn't false but sure is misleading.
It’s not misleading at all. Try running ray tracing in games on a card without dedicated RT hardware. It won’t be playable.

It would be misleading to claim you can run ray tracing on card that doesn’t have the dedicated hardware!
 

Michael7

Posts: 43   +34
What is the point of 12GB RAM in a $330 GPU designed for 1080p you ask? Simple, to get more money when they release 3080,3070 and 3060 with 16 GB of RAM and stick a Super/Ti or Ultra name on it.
Ah the beauty of staggered release. If only people waited patiently for the whole lineup release instead of jumping the first minute to grab whatever is offered to them. Besides what else Nvdia could do when there were caught off guard by AMD hitting them with 16GB and most likely 12GB with upcoming 6700.
 
  • Like
Reactions: PEnnn and Lounds

Irata

Posts: 1,137   +1,803
TechSpot Elite
But isn't it better to release the products with more ram from the get go? Having to design and produce different SKUs makes it more expensive and harder to manage?
Sure is and I‘m positive AIB aren‘t too happy but it‘s still rather early in the game, so it‘s better to make changes now than to wait and risk losing market share (more likely in the mid range and below).

The to be replaced SKU will probably just silently disappear from the market like the FE.
 
  • Like
Reactions: meric

MSIGamer

Posts: 39   +47
It's misleading because the graph makes it seem like the gtx 1060 is a worthless card, while in reality it is still a decent performer at 1080p in most games. Just don't enable ray tracing. Nobody does that with that card.
 
Last edited:

bluetooth fairy

Posts: 155   +100
It will be a challenge for a consumer to choose between different rtx SKUs.

Targeted as 1060 replacement but costs much more than $250 nv asked for 1060.

As for 3060's tdp = 170w, it is a big step from 1060. Might require diff psu either.

Uses more vram than everything else in rtx lineup except 3090. Which is very misleading for most people.

3060 isnt much faster than 2060. It is about as fast as 2060 super. From this point of view 3060 looks like generational improvement.

3060 has narrower memory bus than 2060 super. Is it an emprovement really?

3060ti in comparision, is better in every aspect than 2060 super. It is faster than 2080 super, but has MSRP of 2060 super.

3060ti is faster than 3060 by 27% (according to techpowerup relative perf table), but its MSRP is only 21% higher.

All in all, this 3060 makes the whole rtx lineup look odd, at least for now. The only idea is that it isnt for consumers at all.
 
Last edited:

EdmondRC

Posts: 45   +34
I'm not sure if the RAM chips are any cheaper (isn't it the same 32-bit GDDR6 module, only 6 of them for 192 and 8 for 256 bit), but the circuit board can definitely be less complex, which saves a bit of costs (though not a game-changing amount).

On the other hand, resizable bar can be a benefactor of a larger VRAM on board, how much tmore FPS it gives, is very game dependent though (as tested here recently).

I think NV just didn't want to bring a 6GB board to the market after the AMD launch, and they also didn't want to change the layout much (192-bit PCB and all that), so the easiest option is to double up on the chips (resulting 12 GB; 8 or 10 would have been difficult, requiring severe PCB changes). Just a hunch :)
Unfortunately, most MBs that are not the current gen do not support resizable BAR, even most of the Z series. I hope that MB manufacturers release bios updates to support the feature, but I seriously doubt they'll do that.

You are right about the 256 bit GDDR6, but the GDDR6X in the 3080 are actually different chips and have a higher cost. They are still 32bit, so it takes 10 of them to achieve the 320 bit bus speeds (I thought it was 384 bit, but I guess that is just the 3090). However, they are able to clock higher than typical GDDR6 and the 32 bit is not 16BL X 2, but 8BL X 4. The RTX 3080 VRAM has a stock 760 Gbps cumulative bandwidth while the RTX 3060 has 408 Gbps the 3070 and 3060 Ti have 544 Gbps.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Aryassen

CBTex

Posts: 114   +214
Maybe they are having supply issues with GDDR6X that they are not having with the GDDR6...
 

alexnode

Posts: 50   +18
Nvidia is a disgrace to be honest ,
There hasn't been any card available here in the UK. How do they launch more cards instead of sorting out their mess, is beyond belief. And why do you give them space for their meaningless PR.
 
  • Like
Reactions: PEnnn and Michael7

EdmondRC

Posts: 45   +34
It will be a challenge for a consumer to choose between different rtx SKUs.

Targeted as 1060 replacement but costs much more than $250 nv asked for 1060.

As for 3060's tdp = 170w, it is a big step from 1060. Might require diff psu either.

Uses more vram than everything else in rtx lineup except 3090. Which is very misleading for most people.

3060 isnt much faster than 2060. It is about as fast as 2060 super. From this point of view 3060 looks like generational improvement.

3060 has narrower memory bus than 2060 super. Is it an emprovement really?

3060ti in comparision, is better in every aspect than 2060 super. It is faster than 2080 super, but has MSRP of 2060 super.

3060ti is faster than 3060 by 27% (according to techpowerup relative perf table), but its MSRP is only 21% higher.

All in all, this 3060 makes the whole rtx lineup look odd, at least for now. The only idea is that it isnt for consumers at all.
GPUs just cost more than they used to. Everyone has had to make an adjustment. The costs of consoles has gone up $100 from the previous generation as well, even though both manufacturers offer a lower cost option. If Nvidia releases a 3050 and 3050 Ti, they will likely be $229 and $279 respectively. Of course there is always the chance they release a GTX 2660, but its doubtful at this point.
 

Michael7

Posts: 43   +34
It will be a challenge for a consumer to choose between different rtx SKUs.

Targeted as 1060 replacement but costs much more than $250 nv asked for 1060.

As for 3060's tdp = 170w, it is a big step from 1060. Might require diff psu either.

Uses more vram than everything else in rtx lineup except 3090. Which is very misleading for most people.

3060 isnt much faster than 2060. It is about as fast as 2060 super. From this point of view 3060 looks like generational improvement.

3060 has narrower memory bus than 2060 super. Is it an emprovement really?

3060ti in comparision, is better in every aspect than 2060 super. It is faster than 2080 super, but has MSRP of 2060 super.

3060ti is faster than 3060 by 27% (according to techpowerup relative perf table), but its MSRP is only 21% higher.

All in all, this 3060 makes the whole rtx lineup look odd, at least for now. The only idea is that it isnt for consumers at all.
27$% faster at 1080p maybe where games are CPU bound, but at 1440p with RTX on and max details where RAM use starts going over 8GB with latest and future games it will likely be much closer, more like 15% and possibly even less. So I guess it all depends on what monitor you have. But I agree this makes the entire RTX 30 lineup a mess.
 

Lew Zealand

Posts: 1,678   +1,761
TechSpot Elite
It’s not misleading at all. Try running ray tracing in games on a card without dedicated RT hardware. It won’t be playable.

It would be misleading to claim you can run ray tracing on card that doesn’t have the dedicated hardware!
To be fair, there are Shaderpacks for Java Minecraft which use real time Ray Tracing and the 1060 6GB is the minimum recommended, the 1080 and higher is the mainstream recommendation. Yes, this is different from regular Shaderpacks which add RT shading/lighting effects, these are true Ray Tracing running on the CUDA cores. I'm not sure these even engage the hardware RT cores in RTX cards as I don't have one of those.