Printing to a non-networked printer

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a teacher and have just been given a new laptop by my school. My problem is the tech department will no longer load the printer files and driver for a personal printer on the new computers. The closest networked printer is too far away for some of my emergency printing needs. Is a workaround possible? Can I load the printer system files on a flash drive?

You can Print to File, then save the prn file to USB flash drive, and print later on a closer printer
But if you have a need for a local printer (or closer networked printer, to help teach!)
Then I cannot see why this would be declined

Have you tried installing the drivers yourself? Or do they stop you from the installation (which I find hard to believe)

printing to non-networked printer

Re: Kimsland reply
I sometimes need to print off things immediately (fresh research, news items , emails,
etc.), and I cannot wait to print to file and find another printer-connected computer.
The decision to not allow system changes on the computers was made at the school district level.

Re: AtK SpAdE reply
I have tried to install the printer files but the system does not allow the changes unless I am logged in as a system administrator, a security level I do not have.

Does no one have a workaround solution?

There is no other option
Other than staff allowing another "networked" printer through a hub in your office
I understand "local" install may be impossible due to being on a network domain server (likely)

Yea as kimsland said you are out of luck. That rarely is true in the computing field but with out administrator privileges there is nothing you can do.

*IF* you can get ADMIN access to the laptop;
disconnect from the network and install the drivers offline.

Some printers are required to be accessible when installing drivers, so
a) find a friend with that same printer
b) connect to his/her lan
c) install the drivers