Problems installing drivers for my wireless USB adapter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sprslngr

I've been at this for a few days now and I hope someone can help. First off I'm a beginner so answers in lamens terms would be appreciated. and thanks in advance for any help. I started having trouble with my internet last week and after talking to AT&T I removed my wireless usb device andattempted to reinstall to fix the problem. Turns out the problem was with their router. Now I can't reinstall my usb device. The program installs normally then I get an error message from the hardward installer saying "A problem occured while installing your device". it also tells me that windows can't find software better than what I already have installed. I purchased a new USB adapter and had the same problem with the new one. spent an hour on the phone with the tech support who determined there is a problem with my PC. Duh.... when I try to reinitiate the device manager it says that windows cant find the drivers. Anyone ever have this problem. Thanks

Ray

It's not clear to me on exactly how you are trying to install the adapter. The USB adapters I have experience with say to install the driver first and then after the driver is installed, insert the USB adapter and let Windows find the device and connect/install the driver. Did you follow this order of installation?

If not, try uninstalling the driver from Add and Remove Programs in the Control Panel (for XP) or uninstall from Programs and Features in the Control Panel in Windows 7 and then start over.