Serious Error Message

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am very new to all this...posting threads and such. And certainly not a techie. But, I have been getting error messages recently, since I bought an external Pioneer DVD writer. I've been able to burn DVDs for two months, but now when I try to burn a DVD my computer just shuts down. When I re-boot I get a serious error message. I just found out that I need a Hi-speed USB host controller, since I have an older '02 computer. I am buying that, but is that the reason for the error message? Or is it something else besides the USB?

Here's the Error Message.

BCCode : 1000000a BCP1 : 00000001 BCP2 : 00000002 BCP3 : 00000000
BCP4 : 804DBE7B OSVer : 5_1_2600 SP : 2_0 Product : 768_1

C:\DOCUME~1\KATHYB~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER2817.dir00\Mini032308-01.dmp
C:\DOCUME~1\KATHYB~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER2817.dir00\sysdata.xml

Would someone please help me? I've keep my Windows XP updated, but I do P2P. Could that be a problem?

3 issues

Yes the USB 2 controller will be needed
The Mini032308-01.dmp should be attached to a new post
P2P - may mean you have malware installed (depending upon what you are sharing)

One other point:

You can "bump" posts if you feel there has been no reponse over too much time.
This will avoid new posts, referring to this one.

Thank you for responding, but again I'm not a computer guru so therefore I don't know what you mean by the Mini032308-01.dmp should be attached. Nor do I know to "bump" posts, or even what that means. The DVD writer worked fine for two months, why would it now suddenly need a Hi-Speed USB host controller?

Using Explorer (not Internet Explorer) navigate to:
c:\windows\Minidump
An easy way to do this, is to click Start--> Run --> c:\windows\Minidump

Once the folder opens, check for your MiniDump file -->Mini032308-01.dmp
You can copy this file to Desktop (right click copy, then paste on your Desktop)

Then reply to my message, and click this icon -->
attach.gif