Strange problem with Firefox

emmaringo

Hi all! I'm new here so please forgive me if I make any mistakes (like posting in the wrong sub-forum).

I have a very weird problem with my Firefox browser. I have searched the net for a solution but could not find it. This is the issue:

I have been using Firefox for internet browsing for many years now and have not encountered any big problems. I usually keep myself "signed in" into all of my regular sites (as it is my private PC and not a public one).

Then one day I decided to clean up Firefox's cache/cookies/history/temporary files etc. It went fine but I got singed out of all of my sites (Google, Facebook, Youtube etc.). An annoyance but no big deal so I went to each site and logged in again.

This is where the problem is. There is one site, which opens up fine, but its log-in page does not open. Whenever I go to the log-in page I get the usual error message:

"The connection was reset

The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.

The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few moments.
If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network connection.
If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure that Firefox is permitted to access the Web."

I tried all the usual suggestions that are on the net, like cleaning the cache (again!), removing any proxy settings, etc. But nothing works. The log-in page opens in other browsers like Chrome and IE. Also, the log-in page opens in Firefox if I use one of those free online proxy sites (like "Hideme" and KProxy").

So what could be the problem? It seems like a small issue, maybe some setting to change? Please help me so that I can log in to the site in the usual way without having to go through these proxy sites. Any tips or workarounds?

Thank you