1. TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users. Ask a question and give support. Join the community here.
    TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users.
    Ask a question and give support.
    Join the community here, it only takes a minute.
    Dismiss Notice

Thoughts on Vista/What is Your Problem With Vista

By SNGX1275 ยท 520 replies
Mar 29, 2007
  1. retexan599

    retexan599 TS Rookie

    Windows Vista So Far

    Everything has gone superbly for me with Vista; I really like it. I have it OEM on a brand new computer with plenty of horsepower. I like the look, the feel, and the functionality. I transferred files (including OE email and settings to Windows Mail) from my old XP machine with Windows Easy Transfer and it worked perfectly. Now using Office 2007 with my old Office XP files, no problem and I like the 2007 stuff. Newsgroups were easily set up. IE7 Favorites came over directly.

    I have downloaded pictures ok from my Canon camera. Admittedly I have yet to play a graphics intensive game or do video editing, but that is to come and I am hopeful of good results on that as well. Playing music is easy with the Media Player.

    Although not a function of Vista, I really enjoy the very low noise level from the new computer, much quieter than my five year old HP 760n. The big bright 22 inch TFT monitor is a pleasure also.
     
  2. in terms of the stuff that i've heard about the sound features that vista offers, i've heard a detailed analysis. i saw this video online where they went into great detail with how they layered the files, the buffering software, and all kinds of neat stuff. apparently they've gotten rid of an entire section of code. some consider it to be a hindrance, but it offers other benefits. if you all remember the old system, if you were playing a nice 44 mHz cd on you're computer, and you're computer happened to ding at the wrong moment, it would reset the audio quality down to the default that the computer is set at. apparently, with the new way they've layered it, you can manually set an audio quality setting, and the software supposedly forces all media players to play at that setting and nothing can change the quality. kinda nifty. i've also heard that vista now offers a central graphic equalizer that allows you to modify the bass, treble, and everything in between so that ALL sound coming out of your computer will go through that equalizer first. another nifty feature. if i read that correctly, that means that if you're playing a first person shooter like call of duty, and you want there to be more bass so that things go BOOM really nicely, you can manually set that in the central equalizer. i've been looking for something cool like that for a while. please correct me if i'm wrong about any of that.
     
  3. computerexpert1

    computerexpert1 TS Rookie

    Hello To All,

    I must comment on not being able to run old games and software in Windows Vista. You should try running them in compatibility mode. Install the game. Go to the shortcut on your desktop, right click it, and select the compatibility tab. Check the box that says Run in compatibility mode for:, and then select either Windows XP or Windows 2000 in the drop down box. Click Apply. It should NOT require you to restart the computer, but if it does then restart the computer. Your program should now run.

    Hope This Helps,

    Patrick D., Chairman
    Atomic Programming Incorporated

    If you have any questions or concerns about Windows Vista compatiblity or questions about other operating systems, feel free to email me or my support staff using the following email address:

    chairman email: pwdennis@windstream.net
    support email: apisupport@yahoo.com
    company email: atomic_programming_inc@yahoo.com

    HAVE A GREAT DAY!!!
     
  4. Metallix6403

    Metallix6403 TS Rookie Posts: 21

    From what Ive seen on my fiance's and parents' computers, Vista is a waste of time at the moment. The ammount of program crashes that come from the most basic of tasks is so irritating that I have to walk away from the computer.

    Granted that the OS is fairly new and bugs are to be expected, but Ive seen an unstable system everytime I use it.

    I know that I will be getting it sooner or later just due to the fact that Directx 10 is Vista only. I dont think backwards compatibility, interms of gameplay, will be an issue since you should beable to run the latest version of Dx 9 as someone mentioned earlier. I just know that when I do get it, its off with the useless Vista interface and back to the classic windows so my resources can go to somewhere where I actually need them. Services are going to be bare bones and that irritating security manager thing is out the window.

    Vista actually might turn out to be a really great OS once I take care of all my gripes, but until most of the bugs have been picked out, Im staying far far away...
     
  5. raybay

    raybay TS Evangelist Posts: 6,908   +10

    The bugs are almost always in the hardware, or the drivers, for memory, video graphics, audio, or other peripherals... or value ram memory that is too slow or too small. Try upgrading memory first. Memory is fairly cheap nowadays.
     
  6. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Topic Starter Posts: 10,545   +429

    I've not had any program crashes under Vista. If you are I'd be tempted to blame something other than the OS, like hardware or software conflicts that you created on your own. I regularly use mirc, winamp, opera, lastfm, office 2007, irfanview, vlc, dvd decrypter, dvd shrink, media center, winrar, picasa, command and conquer 3, and probably a couple others and usually several of those are running at once. No problems at all.
     
  7. IBN

    IBN TS Guru Posts: 469

    I second SNGX, though the order of my widgets in My Sidebar do get jumbled about often.
     
  8. Metallix6403

    Metallix6403 TS Rookie Posts: 21

    In replying to the previous posts...

    The computers Ive worked on arent mine, and I havent checked the specs on the systems but they are brand spankin new so I have been assuming that the hardware is up to par.

    Its not the OS crashing its just that microsoft programs such as IE crash all the time so its not hardware related. Again my opinion on it is staying away until completely necessary.
     
  9. Grafficks

    Grafficks TS Rookie Posts: 287

    I got a new laptop about three weeks ago (HP Pavilion DV6325CA, if you're wondering). As you know, all (or most) of the new laptops come with Vista Home Premium pre-installed.

    I used the laptop with Vista Home Premium for about a week, then I nuked the hard drive and installed Vista Ultimate on it. It's the family laptop, so I really got overruled in terms of which OS to install (they were all eager to use the new attractive Vista interface). I couldn't install XP even if I wanted to, HP provides only the Vista drivers for all their new machines.

    I managed to get a dual-boot with Linux on it, and my dad didn't mind as long as the bootloader was set to highlight Windows by default. While I was installing drivers and software on the fresh install of Vista, I had no problems at all. I especially like how Vista comes with generic drivers for many devices. Stuff like video, audio, card reader, and wireless started working immediately after the first boot.

    The Aero interface and visuals work quite smoothly on my Intel GMA 950. I can use the new sleek interface without video lag, even when running on integrated graphics.

    There are a few useful enhancements, such as the sidebar gadgets and voice recognition. Other than that, everything is pretty much similar to XP.

    The main thing I find annoying is UAC, which mocks the user's intelligence by asking too many questions. I would also like to point out that it eats a lot of RAM. With the 1GB that my laptop has, (64-128MB goes to graphics) the task manager constantly reports that I have 0MB of Physical Memory left. Even when I'm idle on the desktop, it uses all of my Physical RAM and constantly needs Virtual Memory borrowed from the Hard Disk.

    However, Vista will inevitably be the replacement for XP. It's hungry for RAM, but that's hardly a problem because of the recent price drops (I woke up today to find a Kingston 512MB/667MHz module @ $20 CAD!). There is a lack of Vista support in a lot of useful software products, but this won't be a problem later on as newer versions are released to support Vista.


    To sum up, I haven't had any serious problem with Vista. Amazingly, I have had no errors of any sort. Seriously, nothing at all. Maybe I was just lucky...?
     
  10. Mirob

    Mirob TechSpot Paladin Posts: 470

    I have Ultimate 32bit on the slowest of my five machines, a 3200+ at 2.4GHz, Geforce 6100 onboard and 512MB ram. It does it's job just fine. No problems with it for it's sole purpuse--F@H. Sound drivers wont install(it doesn't need them.) That black the screen and ask permission crap just annoys me to death, I think it has crashed only to find out it needs my OK to do what I told it to do. I've read disabling that can cause some programs to not install.

    I'm with Tedster, XP is still just fine for now.

    Vista is buggy, the drivers are buggy and there are no real benefits--yet.
     
  11. raybay

    raybay TS Evangelist Posts: 6,908   +10

    Most likely it is hardware related, or configuration related.
    Let us know what you learn.
    Tedster is right, though. There is no reason to give up WXP... particularly Windows XP Professional, SP2a or later, works better than most any thing else out there.
     
  12. AlbertLionheart

    AlbertLionheart TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,997

    the thing is a greedy bully. Grabs all the resources, won't let you follow the usual offbeat windows ways of doing things and is so far up its own backside about security it is a horror to network. Still, I hated XP when it first appeared so I suppose I will get used to it when I can afford the expensive platform it needs to run.
     
  13. joked u 2

    joked u 2 TS Rookie Posts: 124

    I bought halo 2 for vista buisness on my 3.2ghz HT chip, nvidia 7600GS vid card. 1g 533 ram. & 16x dvd-ram drive. seems to do quite well so far! gaphics are pretty good!
     
  14. Phantasm66

    Phantasm66 TS Rookie Posts: 4,909   +8

    Ditto.

    No problems here at all.
     
  15. hynesy

    hynesy TS Maniac Posts: 377

    I quite like vista, only problem ive had is changing registry permissions to allow a program to install. What that did was delete 1) my registry file extentions and 2) the .exe registry......or that could be my bad, im guessing the latter. Alot of people including myself had problem in the RC1 in the form or a memory whole, but that has been fixed for the final version.
    cheers
    Hynesy :wave:
     
  16. raybay

    raybay TS Evangelist Posts: 6,908   +10

    From the 06/20/07 Washington Post:

    "Microsoft has agreed to revise its Vista operating system under a compromise with federal and state officials monitoring the company's compliance with a five-year-old antitrust decree, according to a court filing last night.

    Microsoft's concession came after Google filed a complaint alleging that it and other competitors were unfairly disadvantaged by how Microsoft designed the feature for conducting computer-desktop searches. In particular, Google said that it was difficult to turn off the Microsoft desktop search and that Google's desktop search ran too slowly when users chose it as an alternate.

    A company executive said Microsoft would allow users to select a default desktop search provider in the same way they choose a default Internet browser or media player. The executive spoke on condition of anonymity because the company had not authorized him to be quoted. The company is also adding links to make it easier for users to add other desktop searches, the executive said. Finally, Microsoft will provide technical information to other companies so they can make their desktop programs run more smoothly on Vista, the executive said."
     
  17. Hi, newbie here...

    I'll be getting a new desktop within a month or so, but I'm wondering if i should go the Vista way. My current desktop is from 2001--a P3 733Mhz runnng on....WINDOWS ME!!! So when i also read in a CNET customer review that "Vista is the new ME", I got really, really, REALLY scared. Man I've been dealing with one major headache for 6+ years.

    I read all 10 pages of this thread, so i can accept the fact that Vista will actually get a commitment for MS, unlike with winME. Still, this laptop i use has XP, and compared to that desktop, you can understand that for me, XP is the greatest thing since sliced bread.

    For the record i intend on getting a duo core, 256mb video (nvidia) , 1 gb ram, 250 g hd. I'm on a tight budget, so i really dont think i want to push for that 2gb ram. My siblings only use the computer for movies, music, internet, burning.

    should i suffer now, and pay for vista with it's "buggieness" until the service packs arrive, or enjoy XP now, and then pay again for Vista when it's issues are for the most part, dealt with?
     
  18. raybay

    raybay TS Evangelist Posts: 6,908   +10

    I don't think there is any evidence that VISTA is the new ME. It works better than any new version of Windows ever has. There is very little "buggieness" unless you have a machine limited in speed, memory, or video graphics.
    The problem we see is that it is a difficult change from Windows XP to to VISTA... too many screens and procedures are different. There is less flexibility.

    And after a flurry of VISTA installs since last December, we have yet to find one reason to upgrade or migrate to VISTA. Perhaps that is to come. Service Pack 2 will be out by November 1.

    We have gone back to installing Windows XP Professional SP 2 on all machines.

    The only organization that benefits from the install of VISTA is Microsoft.
     
  19. good to know raybay. i just spoke to a friend today and he basically said what a number of ppl here already brought up, that ppl forget that win xp was received terribly, had all sorts of problems. well i guess i'll go with the more stable winXp sp2 for now, and maybe sometime in the future when it's a good time to--go to Vista
     
  20. gbhall

    gbhall TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,419   +77

    Has anybody thought that the next server operating system from MS is very, very likely to deny access from ANY client other than a Vista premium (at minimum) client?

    The excuse will be to do with 'only Vista allows the necessary central control and automatic security updates which customers need for complete conformance with national / international accounting / privacy / security standards' (fill in your own complete nonesense here).

    You think even MS wouldn't push such a blatant enforced upgrade on everybody? Think again - they already did because expensive XP-PRO is necessary to do standard business networking, cheap XP-home cannot join a full-scale network.

    We poor suckers.....
     
  21. kitty500cat

    kitty500cat TS Evangelist Posts: 1,391   +6

    Why else do you think I run Ubuntu Linux?
     
  22. raybay

    raybay TS Evangelist Posts: 6,908   +10

    If you had been reading the legal opinions in the European courts, the Chinese courts, and the US Federal and State Courts, you would know that their rulings have made what you suggest pretty much impossible.
    Microsoft has lost control of their Windows product... their only hope is what they can redirect... and keep upgrading... Thus you see the WXP verions will expire much sooner than W98, W98SE, WMe, WNT, and W2K did.
     
  23. N3051M

    N3051M TS Evangelist Posts: 2,094

    Although the drive with the various retailers/sales rep etc are pushing Vista Premium (and up), it would be very, very silly of a large company such as MS to drop everything and go Vista exclusive. Its (in my opinion) a myth. Maybe in a year and a half time when the ratio of XP:Vista changes to the latter then they may start locking certain features to it (due to easier programing). But even having things locked down won't mean that cross-platform networking won't work, just some "advanced features" are most likely not included/unable to access.. Think Win98 and XP.

    Oh yeh, another myth: Vista not hooking up with XP (networked).
    Verdict: Myth busted. :D
     
  24. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Topic Starter Posts: 10,545   +429

    There will always be network connectivity between Vista and earlier OSes or later ones and whatever MS has released at the time. There is little to gain from requiring that, and much to lose.

    As far as locking down programs to run Vista only, that isn't really Microsoft's fault, there are probably certain ways of coding for Vista that simply won't work in XP, and definately not 98. But this is nothing new, XP broke a lot of things that worked in Windows 95. On the Mac OS side of things OS X was a huge change from priors and it is very common to see programs now that will only run in Tiger (10.4), and there are many programs that will not run if you have earlier than 10.3.9.
     
  25. raybay

    raybay TS Evangelist Posts: 6,908   +10

    The enemy of "good" is "better", and those enemies are lurking in every alley and down any dark street.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add your comment to this article

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...