Trojans And Viruses

Status
Not open for further replies.

oli8925

Hi Everyone.

First off im a beginner on here and havent had much practice with computers for a while so please bare with me.

ive recently aquired some unwelcome guests in the form of, Privacy Protector, Error Cleaner and Spyware&malware protection. these are driving me and my computer insane so please help!

i stumbled across this site looking for a cure on google, and read a thread about how to prevent it (not allowed to link) however this isnt working for me due to a number of reasons.

1. i can no longer access any files on c: drive.
2. internet explorer is no longer working (im on firefox)
3. system restore for some reason will not go back before the viruses.

i have now have no idea what to do. i have an up to date norton that wont pick them up, and not being able to access any files, its hard to know where to go next.

please, does anyone know what to do?

thanks xxdanielxx

still a couple of questions:
1. how long should step 3 be taking? it seems to me to be going around in circles.
2. i am unable to find the hijackthis.exe file due to the problems with not being able to access anything on my hard drive. eg, when i open 'my computer', 'my documents' etc appears but not 'c: drive'

and firefox just shut itself down losing all the progress so far. i guess im skipping step 3 then...

download smithfraudfix from the link below and run in safe-mode then select 2. then post the log here

ive managed to follow the first link you gave me and im on step 14 now. computers now running fine with no signs of any virus etc. obviously ill carry on to step 15 to make sure but thanks for the help

hey ok first make sure to delete everything superantispyware found