(trying) to upgrade computer?

I bought my computer nearly a decade ago for video game and music mixing reasons and now it's really starting to show its age... I'm experiencing frame rate issues in video games as easy to run as team fortress 2 and can barely run video games like vermintide on the lowest possible settings. Someone told me my CPU is the weakest thing I've got in my computer, but I wanted more opinions... Can I somehow upgrade some aspects of my computer to run the newly released games (it barely does at present...) or should I just start investing in a new computer?

Apologies in advance, I'm not very tech savvy...

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
Manufacturer: Intel
Speed: 2.5 GHz
Number of Cores: 4
Some research had me discover I have a IPIEL-LA3 (Eureka3) motherboard manufactured by Pegatron and that I will likely have to replace it if I want to change anything regarding my processor...
RAM: 8GB
1TB Hard drive

My graphics card is a GTX 650, not the ATI Radeon card it came with... a friend swapped out the graphics card and power supply my computer came with. This was a long time ago and it seemed to fix my frame rate problems at the time, but as the years go by things are starting to stutter again...
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
Dedicated Memory: 1024 MB
Total Memory: 3.9 GB
Pixel Shader and Vertex Shader: 5.0

I know I only have 1 post here, so I am extremely grateful for any helpful advice from this forum and I hope I'm not breaking any rules or falling into a widely undesirable stereotype... I am ready to provide any more information.

Thanks in advance!