Video Games Are Better The Second Time You Play Them

Julio Franco

Staff member

Everyone remembers the first time they played a really good video game. The constant surprises of Half-Life, or the drama of Final Fantasy VI, or the stress and catharsis of Far Cry 2. As good as those games were the first time around, they’d almost certainly be better the second. Or the third. Or the fourth.

I love to replay games. It’s something my colleagues occasionally give me crap for. They worry I’m sacrificing time I could otherwise spend on new games re-experiencing old ones. I do play games for a living, so I always try to maintain a healthy mix of new ones in my rotation. But I’m almost always replaying something.

In fact, I generally enjoy replying the older games more than breaking in the new ones. At the moment, I’m replaying Wolfenstein: The New Order and Deus Ex: Human Revolution. I’m still regularly going back to a New Game+ playthrough of Persona 4 Golden, and I’m in the middle of my third time through The Witcher 3. I have a perpetual game of Half-Life 2 that doesn’t so much end as it does endlessly refresh and repeat.

Read the complete article.

I am struggling to articulate exactly how much this article rings true for me, re-playing games is an incredible experience and in the same capacity that if you re-watch TV shows and movies, re-listen to music and re-read books you are 100% likely to discover new things, minute details that carry more significance the more you think about them and new interpretations.

I tend to play a game through once making the choices I as a person would do whilst trying to not f**k everything up.
My 2nd playthrough I may explore other avenues unless I really like the 1st choice (like chosing Imperial over Stormcloak in Skyrim), things tends to be because I don't want to invest time in choices that make the game less fun or I find uninspiring. I normally increase the difficulty on these playthroughs as well.