What can I do to a Optiplex gx270 to make it WoW-friendly?

teddyzaper

I have an old Dell optiplex gx270 that i would like to upgrade so that i can play WoW and other games on it. What could i do to make it better. I have no experience in hard-drive upgrading but i am always up for learning and have others that can help if im struggling. Right now im playing on an insperon 15 laptop and it barely gets 10fps. If someone could help me with picking out what needs updates/upgrades that would help me out a lot. I am working on a slimmer budget, but not impossible (~$200). Is it worth trying to salvage this computer or should i just continue with my insperon 15?

Oh yeah, you can find its specs by typing in "gx270", i cant give links because i only have 1 post.

Looking at the system specs there are several issues working against you: cpu and the fact that your video card slot is the old AGP and they don't make AGP cards anymore though you can still find a limited stock here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...100007709 600007850&IsNodeId=1&name=AGP 4X/8X

You make the minimum requirements for cpu for WoW if your system has the Intel Pentium 4 and not their Celeron cpu. According to the specs this model shipped with either. If the latter than save up and we'll help you build a system because it will not be worth upgrading.

As for the link the only two cards that are worth considering are the HIS 4670 and the Gigabyte 4650 where WoW is concerned. Still even if it a Pentium 4 IMO I doubt spending money on a video card upgrade is worth it.

* What other games are you considering? Do you have two gigs of RAM installed?

I dont know if i have 2 gigs of ram, but i plan on playing WoW, LoL, starcraft II, minecraft, and maybe other games like diablo 3.

So, you are saying i shouldnt bother upgrading. If so, that is the kind of answer i wanted, and thank you. I am willing to put the effort in learning and upgrading my computer if it is worth it, but if it isnt, why bother.