Windows Updates

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kijana

Hi everyone.

The advice of this web-site - and I find it very important, is that every-time you re-install Windows XP, among the first steps you take is downloading and installing critical updates.

Being a computer technician, I format/re-install Windows XP several times a week on different computers, but the internet speeds are pathetic. It can take several days to download and install recommended updates and its very frustrating since I am not assured of customer's satisfaction and security.

Therefore I was asking if there is one downloadable package that is updated even if its once a month that I can download and install.

Thank You.

You can download SP3 and install that on machines you reformat before you go to the Windows site. It saves a lot of time in the updating department.

I have found the same problem - and sometimes the way I get round it is to advise the client that "there will be more downloads to follow once he logs on to the 'net" - usually they are content to run these updates themselves!

You may want to take a look at RyanVM's integrator and/or nlite for making slipstreamed install cd's. A net search should find lots of documentation and info for these two programs. I always have an updated iso image of the XP install disks, plus a few copies in case I have to do an XP repair or clean install. Got tired of the blank look I would get when I asked customers for their XP install CD, or finding out half way through an install that the disk was bad, or scratched, or whatever. As far as I know it is legal to give someone one of these XP disks as long as they have a valid license for the OS. It will also help if you have to replace a hard drive on a system that only had a recovery partition with no XP disk