24" monitor or 27"

cartera

I have a choice to make on a new monitor.

It needs to be VESA mountable and will be for strategy gaming and work purposes. Games like Wargame, Supreme Commander and World of Tanks. I work as a sysadmin so think lots of windows open!

Do I get a 24" monitor like this Benq (recommendations on a different one are welcome)

Or do I get a 27" monitor. If you think 27" what res would you recommend baring in mind I am sporting a 760gtx.

Thanks,

I think 1080P is the best bet for your GTX 760. 2560x1600 or 2560x1440 (27 inch panels) might be a bit too much. It is really personal preference whether you weant a 24 inch or a 27 inch. There are 1080P monitors in both sizes. I recommend Dell, BenQ, ASUS, Samsung, and ACER monitors. There are some other good ones, but I cant think of them off the top of my head.

Found a iiyama that looks great. 27", 1080p 120Hz and looks good. I had the same reservations about going for the 2560 x 1440. I can get one of those when I next do a rebuild.

Have you heard of or used Iiyama?

Found a iiyama that looks great. 27", 1080p 120Hz and looks good. I had the same reservations about going for the 2560 x 1440. I can get one of those when I next do a rebuild.

Have you heard of or used Iiyama?
Nope. Is that one of the Korean display companies? Supposedly they are good.

But as for the 120Hz, I am not sure your 760 can get games to 120 FPS, let alone constant 60FPS. You may need another 760.

But as for the 120Hz, I am not sure your 760 can get games to 120 FPS, let alone constant 60FPS. You may need another 760.
Doesn't really matter, gaming will still look better at lower frame rates.

With 120Hz monitor:
  • At 120Hz the monitor will refresh 1 time, compared to 60Hz refreshing 0.5 time
  • At 60Hz the monitor will refresh 2 times, compared to 60Hz refreshing 1 time
  • At 40Hz the monitor will refresh 3 times, compared to 60Hz refreshing 1.5 times