A Look Back at the GeForce GTX 780 in 2017

Julio Franco

Staff member
Wow, that's unexpected to see a retrospective on the very card I've been using for the last 4 years.

I'm using MSI GTX-780, with monitor DELL U3014, and 4 years later I still find these two utterly satisfying for everything, barring games, of which I only play SC-2.

I can't really blame Nvidia for not wanting to optimize for Kepler as it has similar problems to that of AMD's Fury X and R9 390. The scheduler just isn't able to squeeze the most out of the chip as possible.

https://devblogs.nvidia.com/paralle...ould-know-about-new-maxwell-gpu-architecture/

AMD's R9 390 is able to do better here because the architecture was very forward looking. GCN came way before it's time with compute performance no game could take advantage of. Only recently are we starting to see games use compute and that's the only way you are going to see excellent utilization on the top end 200, 300, and Fury series cards. Otherwise I expect the increased emphasis on geometry performance with Vega and the improved scheduler to make it a much more balanced card.

I can't really blame Nvidia for not wanting to optimize for Kepler as it has similar problems to that of AMD's Fury X and R9 390. The scheduler just isn't able to squeeze the most out of the chip as possible.

https://devblogs.nvidia.com/paralle...ould-know-about-new-maxwell-gpu-architecture/

AMD's R9 390 is able to do better here because the architecture was very forward looking. GCN came way before it's time with compute performance no game could take advantage of. Only recently are we starting to see games use compute and that's the only way you are going to see excellent utilization on the top end 200, 300, and Fury series cards. Otherwise I expect the increased emphasis on geometry performance with Vega and the improved scheduler to make it a much more balanced card.