Are these good gaming pc specs?

• Yes.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Try this instead

Votes: 3 100.0%

• Total voters
Processor: i5-4690k for overclocking purposes
motherboard: asus/asrock z97 for overclocking purposes
storage: add 256gb Samsung 840 evo ssd for OS/ fav games, hdd is for general storage
gpu: NVidia gtx 770 or amd r9 280x (or higher)
psu: seasonic 600w+ for single gpu usage

Processor: i5-4690k for overclocking purposes
motherboard: asus/asrock z97 for overclocking purposes
storage: add 256gb Samsung 840 evo ssd for OS/ fav games, hdd is for general storage
gpu: NVidia gtx 770 or amd r9 280x (or higher)
psu: seasonic 600w+ for single gpu usage
I'm not really into over locking because this is my first build. But if you could change some stuff on this pc spec list that could make it cheaper.
PcPartPicker List: http://au.pcpartpicker.com/p/HLmwmG

Okay here are some suggestions:
Change that 4790 to a 4690.
Dump the Kraken x60 and pick up something $30 like the thermalright true spirit 120.
Swap the power supply for a rosewill capstone 550w.
Swap the graphics card for a gtx 780 Ti.

Storage is up to your own needs but I'd get an SSD if I were you.

You wouldn't need a soundcard if you don't want to get one.
An R9 290 would give you very similar performance but it'll probably be a little cheaper.

You wouldn't need a soundcard if you don't want to get one.
An R9 290 would give you very similar performance but it'll probably be a little cheaper.
I was just wondering would I need a 7.1 sound card because I knew that to get the best performance with a astro a40 was with a 7.1 sound card.

How much are you wanting to spend on all this because some of the areas for parts seem to be a bit off the wall.

My suggestion to you would be like HK said, get an i5, get a better GPU (Depending on what you want to spend either a R9 290/X or a GTX 780/ti) and a big SSD with a tb storage drive. 8gb of ram is enough for a gaming rig and then pick a motherboard like the MSI Z97-G55.