Asus P4B266 & P4 overclocking

Status
Not open for further replies.
Asus P4b266

Okay, I’ll admit, I’m fairly new to overclocking, I have browsed through a number of threads but I could not find a solution to my problem. So give me helping hand please.
My hardware:
ASUS P4B266
Intel Pentium 4 1.9 (boxed)
512 MB PC2100 ram (unknown brand)
Geforce Ti 4400 (creative)
My OS: Windows XP Pro.

I’m trying to get the best FPS-rate possible because I want to run F1 2001 (and very soon F1 2002) with full options.
With default BIOS settings and factory settings on my GF I got a 3Dmark score of 8200. Overclocking the GF resulted in an even lower score so I needed to increase the FSB. FSB from 101 up to 107 resulted finally in a 3Dmark score of 9250 but as soon as I change the FSB to 108 windows XP will crash with the unfamous blue screen.
I have installed all the stuff in a server-box; lots of space, a good air flow and two additional fans integrated in the chassis. I can’t measure the CPU temp (because of
ASUS Bios 1005) but it does not feel hot. The same for de RAM and the GF.
Have I reached the max or am I doing something wrong.
Please help me out…

NongSung

trying to get the best FPS-rate possible because I want to run F1 2001
Sounds reasonable, but relying on 3DMark alone does not tell you your true performance for anything other than 3D Mark itself. Keep that in mind.

For example
Overclocking the GF resulted in an even lower score so I needed to increase the FSB
This doesn't make much sense at all, and it is likely an error on 3DMark's part.. Not your card.

The blue screen you saw when overclocking would suggest your memory cannot tolerate higher FSB speeds. PC2100 RAM should be running on a 133Mhz BUS and since it is of an "unknown" brand, there is a great chance for poor overclockability. This may or may not be the case, but I think you should investigate it.