Benchmarking filesystems

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crazy

Hey,

I'm doing my internship atm and one of the projects I have to do is setting up a clustered file-system.
I'm using glusterfs, so now I want to run some benchmarks on it.

The question is, what tools are best to use and more importantly, how to use them.
For benchmarking I found bonnie++ and iozone(I'm using fedora8 atm). But how to use it properlly?

The thing I have to do is write many small files to the filesystem. They will get written to different storage servers.

I'm new to linux stuff, so any help will be appriciated!

Hum.. man bonnie++? man iozone?

The sad truth is that there is no "proper" way to run these things, because it all depends on what and how you are benchmarking. The main guideline would be to come up with a set of benchmarks that are the same and fair for all test cases.

Also, bonnie and iozone are artificial benchmarks and therefore almost useless. You should consider setting up something real-life-like and get some useful results with a realistic workload based on some assumed deployment scenario for your filesystem.

To get close to what is happening now in production would be to create allot of new files from 100kb to 1mb in /home/import where I mounted the filesystem.
Timing that would create the best benchmark.

But how to do it?, I'm pretty inexperianced with linux :(, still learning new things each day :)

The place I'm doing my internship is here http://www.nomadesk.com/
I would be testing it to see if it's doable in production.

What do you mean with "artificial benchmarks"?, the thing I'm trying to test is how glusterfs scales, so write allot of files, very fast. Have a gigabit switch available, so bandwidth isn't an issue.

Thanks for the help :)

Ok, so i've made this:

Code:
clear

for ((  i = 0 ;  i <= 1000;  i++  )) do
  `dd if=/dev/zero of=/home/import/1Mfile$i bs=1M count=1`
done
rm -f /home/import/*