Best solutions for small business?

Modena

Good morning everybody,
I'm a desktop support technician at a fairly small company, and as of recently the only "IT" person in the company. My boss has tasked me with giving options on and upgrading our current environment. Any information or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

So our current environment consists of three main office locations, and 16 houses. Total user count is a little over 100. We have two separate SBS 2011 servers, one in main office location A, and another in main office location B. Main office location C does not have a server, they remote desktop or VPN to work, as do all the houses. Also each of the SBS 2011 servers are entirely separate and use different email domains.

Now the servers are separate because we are technically two companies working under one umbrella. So the users need to retain their @companyname email addresses.
The problems lie when users need to share information and network resources between companies/locations.

My solution/suggestion so far has been to switch us all too office 365 business and to do away with our aging servers. This gives us all a uniform platform to work on and collaborate effectively between companies. But before making this switch my boss wants me to compare and contrast other options.
I'd appreciate any suggestions, thank you.

Office 365 is on an annual subscription fee - - you pay over and over. Secondly, it's all cloud based and security can be a real issue. IMO, that's an option for individuals, NOT a business.

For collaboration, consider TeamViewer - - just google for it.

Currently, you can't use File Sharing. Can you clarify:
gives us all a uniform platform to work on and collaborate effectively between companies

Here's a Sharing technique using Role Based authorization
Be advised: Sharing files has an inherent issues:
  1. user-1 creates and shares the file, closes the file