Changing hard drives from IDE to SATA With a RAID configuration

Hello Everyone,

I purchased two WD Green 500 Gig SATA hard drives. I currently have one WD 80 gig IDE as my master and a WD 40 gig as my slave. I am running windows XP Home addition. I want to change out the hard drives, but I have never used SATA before therefore I am a little worried about doing this. I read my manual under the RAID setup topic. I am undicided as to RAID 0 or RAID 1. I have backed up my C drive (the 80 gig IDE) and the slave through the software provided on my external 1 TB WD Book drive. I was thinking of using this software called Spotmau that I purchased to make a copy of my C drive for they say you can completly copy everything even the operating system. A tech at Best buy told me that the system will run very slow if I were to do it using the Spotmau software. He said it would be better to install the new SATA hard drives, set up the RAID and then place a new copy of my operating system on the drive, then pull over my files from the WD external drive. He said the USB can not copy the windows operation system and it would run extremely slow. I know there are a few topics here in my questions, but if anyone can provide some solid advice I would appriciate it. Basically I need to know more on what RAID to use and how best to copy my files over to the drives once there in. I have heard that using both IDE and SATA at the same time can not be done, That is what I planned on doing, but since it is not possible and they will not communicate with one another I had to purchase new hard drives.

Thanks
lizardking71

Windows XP is not capable of running SATA drives as either AHCI (single drive SATA mode) or SATA RAID without installing the proper drivers during the OS install. You would be instructed to "Press F-6", then insert the drivers with a floppy drive.

Bottom line, you would have to install the OS clean to do what you want to do, no exceptions.