CPU Overheating

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi im really new to the whole PC tech issues.. normally i just play computer games etc

but recently my pc has been turning its self off.. like its over heated.. when i restart it .. i noticed a message that said " CPU temperature problem "

so i googled around for abit.. nothing really helped..

i dnt even know what a CPU is or does

just wondering what would cause my CPU to over heat.. is this a bad thing.. how do i cool it etc..

if any one can make sense of this. and try and help me.. well it would save my bacon

Thanks

AJ

CPU's are essentially advanced calculators that "process" (hence the term Central Processing Unit) instructions.

CPU's overheat when a large number of instructions are introduced and heat dissipation is not sufficient. No, you do not want your CPU be overheating.

If you've had the system for a while, do yourself a favor and buy a can of compressed air, open the case and clear all the dust out (especially on the heatsink and it's fan). That might be enough to drop your temperatures to a safe level, and, if it's not you can install another case fan or two, aftermarket thermal compound and/or an aftermarket heatsink.

Thanks.

i just had a quick clean to get rid of the dust for now.. but ill get some compressed air asap then :)

when i run my dxdiag it says i have to cpu's is this normal . will they both be overheatin i take it

You probably have a CPU with two cores, which, is basically two processors on the same die. Considering the fact that they're both on the same die, and aren't separate chips all together, yes, they'd both be overheating.