Drive just shrunk... by 177 Gb!

Status
Not open for further replies.
just got a WD Scorpio 250 Gb 2.5" for a hard drive upgrade/swap on my laptop.

I used Norton Ghost 12.0 to "copy drive" - used all the right settings (I believe - It's my first time with Ghost & upgrading hard drives.)

I formatted & partitioned the new drive (drive 1) to how i wanted it: Main, Data1 and Data2. I was planning on putting the "c" drive on Main, and using Data1 and 2 for data. I did it by putting the new drive in a temporary USB2.0 hard drive enclosure / adapter. (One quark, which im not sure if it's a big deal or not, is that Ghost would only copy to a partitioned & lettered drive. So i named the Main partition "J" ( I couldn't use C: for obvious reasons.)

All seemed to go okay until i swapped the new drive in the computer. It blue-screened on booting with an "UNMOUJNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME" error. A few trys later, i gave up and put the other drive back in. It booted fine.

Using Computer Manager - Disk Management with the new drive back in its USB case, the new drive showed up as an unformatted/unpartitioned drive, BUT it was only 73.12 Gb. I've delted the partition, reformatted, etc. but it's still 73.12.

THE WEIRD PART... my existing drive (drive 0) is exactly 73.12 Gb. It's like the 2nd drive took on the same structure as the primary.

I'm not much of a hardware guy, but after some searching forums and such, i found TestDisk dub-dub-dub (dot) cgsecurity (dot) org. I ran some of the utilities, and it actually found some of the old partitions, but unable to bring them back to life. During this Deep Scan, it also found the largest "Main2" partition, but unable to do anything with it.

Finally, TestDisk noticed that the size was indeed being reported smaller than it actually was. It said check the size in BIOS or Jumpers, neither of which will work (there are no jumpers, and my BIOs in unadjustable, besides it's on a USB port right now.)