First build... suggestions?

Wyeth21

This is my first build for a desktop PC, and I wanted to get some feedback before I buy. I plan on using this for some heavy gaming, and ideally I want to run some pretty graphically-tolling games on high/ultra. I'm not an expert at computers so I thought that I would get some expert advice. I plan on running this system on a Windows 7 Professional 64-bit OS and have yet to do any research on keyboards and mice. I've got an old sound system that works pretty well and plugs in through an audio jack, but I may buy a new one soon. Thanks for the time and feedback, let me know if you have any suggestions!

• CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($189.99 @ Microcenter)
  • CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus 76.8 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($19.99 @ Newegg)
  • Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($174.98 @ Amazon)
  • Memory: Kingston 12GB (3 x 4GB) DDR3-1066 Memory ($97.74 @ Amazon)
  • Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($69.99 @ NCIX US)
  • Video Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 3GB Video Card ($289.99 @ Newegg)
  • Case: Thermaltake Element G ATX Mid Tower Case ($126.98 @ SuperBiiz)
  • Power Supply: Apevia 700W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($45.98 @ Newegg)
  • Optical Drive: Samsung SH-224BB/RSBS DVD/CD Writer ($21.99 @ Amazon)
  • Monitor: Asus VS247H-P 23.6" Monitor ($129.99 @ Newegg)

Total: $1167.62
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)

Alright, a couple things...

MOBO: I would grab this MOBO instead of the one you listed. ASRock Z77 Extreme6 ($160.00)

RAM: I would grab this ram instead of what you listed. 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600MHz ($63.00) If it is for gaming you will not need 12GB of RAM. And, even so, you could have gotten faster RAM then what you chose.